## **REGULATION 4: SENATE**

Regulation 4 may only be amended at a meeting of Council with the agreement of three-fourths present and voting and having taken into account the views of Senate.

1. The Senate, subject to the provisions of the Charter and the Statutes and to the general control and approval of Council, shall be responsible for the academic standards and the direction and regulation of academic matters of the University.

## Composition

- 2. Senate shall consist of the following persons, namely:
  - (i) The Vice-Chancellor;
  - (ii) The Deputy Vice-Chancellor;
  - (iii) The Pro-Vice-Chancellors;
  - (iv) The Heads of the Schools of Studies;
  - (v) Holders of the following offices:

The Librarian;

The Director of Information Technology Services;

The Director of the Sussex Centre for Language Studies;

The Convener of the Foundation Year;

(a)

- (iii) three Undergraduate School Student Representatives (1 Arts and Humanities, 1 Science (including BSMS), 1 Social Sciences).
- (g) The following shall be eligible to nominate, be nominated and vote in the student

Schedule 1

This Schedule sets out the distribution of faculty places referred to in paragraph 6(c)

School	Number of elected places
Brighton and Sussex Medical School	2
University of Sussex Business School	2
School of Education and Social Work	2
School of Engineering and Informatics	2
School of Global Studies	2
School of Law, Politics and Sociology	2
School of Life Sciences	2
School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences	2
School of Media, Arts and Humanities*	2
School of Psychology	2

<sup>\*</sup>The School of Media, Arts and Humanities replaced the Schools of English; Media, Film and Music; and History, Art History and Philosophy from 1 August 2020