REGULATION 26: HONORARY DEGREES

- 1. In accordance with Article 10 of the Charter and in accordance with the Statutes, the University shall confer Honorary Degrees and other distinctions on approved persons; provided that all Honorary Degrees and other distinctions so conferred shall be held subject to this Regulation.
- 2. The University may, without examination, confer an Honorary Degree on any person whom it may deem worthy of such a distinction; provided that the holder of such an Honorary Degree shall not be entitled to practise any profession, by virtue of the fact that he or she has been admitted thereto.
- 3. No person shall be admitted by the University to an Honorary Degree unless his or her name has been approved for that purpose by Senate.
- 4. Senate may make Regulations for governing the procedure to be followed in dealing with a proposal to confer an Honorary Degree.
- 5. The degree of Doctor may be conferred as an Honorary Degree of the University after the resolution of Senate including Doctor of the University (DUniv).
- 6. The Honorary Degrees Committee shall consist of:
 - (a) the Vice-Chancellor (Chair);
 - (b) the Deputy Vice-Chancellor;
 - (c) Chair of Council;
 - (d) two independent members of Council;
 - (e) four members of the permanent academic staff appointed by Senate, of whom two should be Professors and two members of the non-professorial academic staff, (each should serve for three years);
 - (f) the President of the Students' Union.
- 7. The powers of the Committee are:
 - (a) to recommend to Senate:
 - (1) whether or not honorary degrees should be awarded in any one year;
 - (2) if they are to be awarded, the approximate number of them;
 - (3) to whom they should be awarded;
 - (4) awards jointly with other institutions of higher education;
 - (5) joint awards with the University of Brighton on the recommendation of the Brighton and Sussex Medical School Joint Board; with the University hosting the ceremony in any particular year, to seek nominations from BSMS and to process the nomination solely in line with their own Regulations, rather than jointly with the other University. The non-hosting University to be kept informed of the nomination and the outcome of the Committee's decision.